United States Ski and Snowboard Association Honors Athletes

Posted By: The Ski Channel on May 19, 2009 2:58 pm

The United States Ski and Snowboard Association recently honored several of its World Cup athletes. World Championship gold medalists Lindsey Vonn (Vail, CO), Todd Lodwick (Steamboat Springs, CO) and Lindsey Van (Park City, UT) were lauded for their athletic excellence (let’s call it what it is—major prowess) as recipients of the USSA’s Athlete of the Year Awards, on May 15 in Park City.

World Championship silver medalist Kikkan Randall (Anchorage, AK) and World Cup snowboardcross champion Lindsey Jacobellis (Stratton Mountain, VT) were also honored for their stellar athletic seasons. “In a year like this with 14 World Championship medals, five World Cup titles and 32 wins, it was hard to pick award recipients,” said USSA Vice President, Athletics, Luke Bodensteiner. “It’s a real credit to the hard work of these athletes and their teams.”

For Vonn, really, her world-record season made her an easy choice, and Lindsey Van was the first ever World Champion in her sport of women’s ski jumping. Todd Lodwick marked his season as a major comeback after several years off.

Not to be left out, aerialist and 2009 World Champion and World Cup winner Ryan St. Onge was also honored, and tabbed to receive the 2009 Freestyle Athlete of the Year Award. St. Onge landed his first World Cup win since the 2006 season at the Visa Freestyle International at Deer Valley Resort in January, and topped the podium again in Moscow. But his World Championship gold medal really put the cherry atop a wonderful pre-Olympic season.

Look for these athletes to shine next season, as we’re sure they will. 

photos: USSA