Superstars premiere featuring Bode Miller, Terrell Owens, Joanna Krupa, Kristi Leskinen has rich skiing history

Posted By: The Ski Channel on June 23, 2009 11:42 am

The Superstars which airs tonight on ABC features an all-around sports competition among top athletes from various sports. It originated in 1973 and this year the format has been modified to team up the athletes with celebrities.

There are two skiers in the field, Bode Miller and Kristi Leskinen. Bode won this event in 2002 as did Hermann Maier in 2001. Jeremy Bloom was the winner in 2003, the last time the Superstars competition was held in America, so in essence he’s the reigning champion. Jonny Moseley also finished second place four times in 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002. That says a lot about what great athletes skiers are. After all they are competing against the elite football, baseball, and track stars.

The teams this year are:

1 – Terrell Owens – Joanna Krupa
2 – Jeff Kent – Ali Landry
3 – Robert Horry – Estella Warren
4 – Bode Miller – Paige Hemmis
5 – Jennifer Capriati – David Charvet
6 – Lisa Leslie – Dan Cortese
7 – Brandi Chastain – Julio Iglesias Jr.
8 – Kristi Leskinen – Maksim Chmerkovskiy

Tune in and cheer on Bode and Kristi to extend the skier dominance in the Superstars!

Also see previous article on The Superstars.