Picabo Street and Other U.S. Ski Team Athletes Make Olympic Hall of Fame

Posted By: The Ski Channel on July 1, 2009 8:58 am

The votes have been tallied, and U.S. Ski Team legends Picabo Street, Andrea Mead Lawrence and Sarah Will will all be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame.

“Andrea, Picabo and Sarah are three of the greatest ski racers of all time,” said USSA President and CEO Bill Marolt. “Their accomplishments as athletes have inspired generations of aspiring Olympians. It is a great honor for them, as well as for our sport, to be recognized in the Olympic Hall of Fame.”

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame is the only national sports hall of fame that includes fan voting as part of the induction process, and clearly, the fans love skiing.

It’s no surprise that three-time Olympian Picabo Street has a huge following. The former U.S. Ski Team athlete nabbed the silver medal at the 1994 Olympic Winter Games in the downhill. She then took the super G gold in Nagano, Japan (at the 1998 Olympics) by a tiny hundredth of a second. In spite of her huge markers of success, Street is thrilled about her Olympic Hall of Fame induction. “It’s such validation that the time I spent, the sacrifices I made and the success I had really meant something and they’re lasting,” Street said. “The Hall of Fame makes it lasting. In your heart you know no one can ever take it away from you.”

Street is joined in the Hall of Fame by skier Sarah Will who won 14 Paralympian gold medals and a silver during her shining competitive career. And perhaps most poignant is the posthumous induction of Andrea Mead Lawrence, who recently passed away in March. Mead Lawrence initiated the U.S. Ski Team’s rise to greatness, winning gold medals in slalom and giant slalom at the 1952 Olympic Games in Oslo, Norway. She was just 18 years old, then, and is still the only American woman to win two gold medals in skiing at one Olympic Games.

“Each of these Olympians is a worthy addition to the Hall of Fame and an overall symbol of the U.S. Olympic Movement,” said USOC Acting Chief Executive Officer Stephanie Streeter. “The USOC is very excited to honor this year’s U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame legends who have inspired many generations in this country with their courage and thrilling Olympic performances.”

The stellar inductee roster also includes Michael Johnson (athletics), Teresa Edwards (basketball), Willey White (athletics), Mary T. Meagher (swimming) the 1992 Men’s Basketball Team, longtime Men’s Gymnastics Team coach Abie Grossfeld, and special contributor Peter Ueberroth.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will be formally introduced August 12 at a banquet-style induction ceremony at McCormick Place in Chicago.