2010 U.S. Freestyle Ski Team Officially Announced

Posted By: The Ski Channel on August 19, 2009 5:53 pm

The U.S. Freestyle Ski Team has long been one of the strongest groups of athletes in the world. This season, the lineup looks stronger than ever. Nine Olympians top the list (including the three 2009 World Championship medalists) of 36 athletes.  

Hot shots include World Championship gold medalists Ryan St. Onge (Winter Park, CO) and Patrick Deneen (Cle Elum, WA), and World Championship bronze medalist and Overall World Cup Moguls Champion Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT). Olympic silver medalist Shannon Bahrke (Tahoe City, CA) also has been named. “Our team is stacked with athletes who have found success at all levels of competition and we are looking forward to keeping consistency on that front in 2010,” said U.S. Freestyle Ski Team Head Coach Jeff Wintersteen. “It’s going to be an exciting season for freestyle.”

On the aerials front, World Champion Ryan St. Onge is joined by fellow veterans and frontrunners Jeret “Speedy” Peterson (Boise, ID) and Emily Cook (Belmont, MA), both of whom have won World Cup competitions. Aerials Head Coach Matt Christensen is hoping his athletes remain at the top of their field heading into the Olympics. “We hit a great stride in 2009 and I am looking for those guys to not only build that momentum again, but lead the way for others on the team to reach that momentum,” Christensen said. “If we can all reach that stride, great things will come from our team this season.”

The moguls squad is just as tough, what with veteran champ Kearney and the on-fire Deneen on board. The other bumpers are strong as well. Emiko Torito (Denver, CO) is a World Cup podium regular, as are her teammates Michelle Roark (Denver, CO) and Shannon Bahrke. Relative newcomer Michael Morse (Duxbury, MA) is also one to watch, and has notched four top-10 World Cup finishes along with a World Cup podium performance. “We have a great mix of athletes from those who have been on the team for years to rookies and each of them has the opportunity to take things to the next level for the 2010 season,” Moguls Head Coach Scott Rawles said. “We’re just looking forward to our first competitions to get started so the team can really start pushing itself for success.”

Not to be forgotten are the Freestyle newbies yet skiing old-schoolers currently working their magic in the Ski Cross event. Former Olympians Casey Puckett (Aspen, CO) and Daron Rahlves (Sugar Bowl, CA) lead the new team into its Olympic debut. No surprise, Ski Cross Head Coach Tyler Shepherd is excited about his athletes. “We’ve been to the World Cup and World Championship levels, but now is a chance for these guys, who have both competed at the Olympics in alpine, to show the world our sport,” Shepherd said. “Competing in the newest Olympic sport is going to be exciting. Hopefully already having experience at the Games will prepare them for the excitement and enable them to focus on racing their best.”

The 2010 U.S. Freestyle Ski Team (* denotes Olympian)

A Team


Patrick Deneen, moguls (12/25/87; Cle Elum, WA; Silver Mountain Freestyle)

Sho Kashima, moguls (11/1/86; South Lake Tahoe, CA; Heavenly Freestyle)

Michael Morse, moguls (4/21/81; Duxbury, MA; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club/Killington)

Jeret “Speedy” Peterson, aerials (12/12/81; Boise, ID; Bogus Basin)*

Casey Puckett, ski cross (9/22/72, Aspen, CO)*

Daron Rahlves, ski cross (6/12/73, Sugar Bowl, CA)*

Nate Roberts, moguls (3/24/82; Park City, UT; Park City Freestyle Team)

Ryan St. Onge, aerials (2/7/83; Winter Park, CO)*


Shannon Bahrke, moguls (11/7/80; Tahoe City, CA; Squaw Valley Freestyle)*

Emily Cook, aerials (7/1/79; Belmont, MA; Freestyle Lives Year-round)*

Hannah Kearney, moguls (2/26/86; Norwich, VT; Waterville Valley Black & Blue Trail Smashers)*

Shelly Robertson, moguls (4/8/79; Reno, NV; Squaw Valley Freestyle)

Emiko Torito, moguls (7/2/82; Denver; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club)

B Team


Dave Babic, moguls (6/3/79; Washington, VT; Sugarbush)

Scotty Bahrke, aerials (7/19/85; Tahoe City, CA)

Dylan Ferguson, aerials (8/10/88; Amesbury, MA; Waterville Valley Black & Blue Trail Smashers)

Bryon Wilson, moguls (4/7/88; Butte, MT; Wasatch Freestyle)


Jana Lindsey, aerials (8/18/84; Black Hawk, SD)*

Eliza Outtrim, moguls (7/18/85; Steamboat Springs, CO; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club/Mount Snow Ski Club)

Michelle Roark, moguls (11/16/74; Denver; Winter Park Eskimos)*

Lacy Schnoor, aerials (6/12/85; Draper, UT)

C Team


Jeremy Cota, moguls (10/24/1988; Carrabassett Valley, ME; Carrabassett Valley Academy Athletics)

Shane Cordeau moguls (12/16/1986; Sun Valley, ID; Sun Valley Ski Team)

Matt DePeters, aerials (8/20/87; Hamburg NY; Buffalo Ski Club)

David DiGravio, moguls (11/26/86; Farmington, ME; Carrabassett Valley Academy)

Jimmy Discoe, moguls (5/15/89; Ridgway, CO; Telluride Freestyle)

Joe Discoe, moguls (2/23/1987; Telluride, CO; Telluride Freestyle)

Landon Gardner, moguls (1/1/85; Missoula, MT; Missoula Freestyle)

Holt Haga, moguls (8/29/83; Boise, ID; Park City Freestyle Team/Bogus Basin)


Ani Haas, moguls (12/14/87; Missoula, MT; Park City Freestyle)

Mikaela Matthews, moguls (12/24/1991; Frisco, CO; Team Summit)

Heather McPhie, moguls (5/28/84; Park City, UT; Bridger Freestyle/Breckenridge)

Jaime Myers, aerials (3/27/82; Boise, ID)

Laurel Shanley, moguls (2/19/83; Squaw Valley, CA; Squaw Valley Freestyle)

Kayla Snyderman, moguls (7/4/88; Winchester, MA; Waterville Valley Black & Blue Trail Smashers)

Allison Treleaven, aerials (10/20/83; Fort Wayne, IN; Freestyle Lives Year-round)

photo: USSA/TKelly