2009/2010 U.S. Adaptive Ski Team Announced

Posted By: The Ski Channel on August 22, 2009 11:44 am

The U.S. Adaptive Alpine Ski Team for 2009/2010 has just been announced, and the roster is stacked. Nine Paralympians are among the 18 Team athletes, including World Champions and World Championship medalists Stephani Victor (Park City, UT), Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, CO) and Chris Devlin-Young (Campton, NH).

“I am excited for our program as we head into this Paralympic season. We have a very strong team with talented veteran skiers returning to the Team as well as new faces who are all going to be vying for a place at the Paralympics,” Adaptive Program Director Sandy Metzger said.

“This is a really big year for us with the Paralympics in Vancouver. We’re looking to build the momentum that we started in our summer camps, carry it through the fall and just keep building toward March,” U.S. Adaptive Alpine Head Coach Ray Watkins added.

All athletes are amazingly talented, and can bend their skis just as well as able-bodied ski racers. Paralympic gold medalist Stephani Victor won three gold medals and a silver at the 2009 World Championships. “A really important event in our sport is World Championships and she rose to the occasion and dominated over there,” Watkins said. “We’re looking forward to her repeating at the Olympics, and hopefully besting her Torino results.”

Teammate Allison Jones is also no slouch. With two World Championship silver medals and summer and winter Paralympic golds, Jones is a favorite headed into the 2010 Paralympic Games in Vancouver.

On the men’s side, World Championship bronze medalist Devlin-Young finished first in the 2009 World Cup super G standings and third in downhill. His teammate, Tyler Walker (Franconia, NH) is also tough to beat, and won two World Cup downhill races and the overall 2009 World Cup downhill title. “Chris and Tyler are definitely at the top of the game in the sport and we just want to keep building and challenging them in different events,” Watkins said. “We’re excited and I think the sky is the limit for both of those guys.”

A Team:
Chris Devlin-Young (12/26/61; sit-ski, Campton, NH)*
Monte Meier (4/27/71; standing, Park City, UT)*
Tyler Walker (04/10/1986; sit-ski; Franconia, NH)*

Allison Jones (5/12/84; standing, Colorado Springs, CO)*
Stephani Victor (8/29/69; sit-ski, Park City, UT)*

B Team:
Carl Burnett (6/14/81; sit-ski, Winter Park, CO)*
Gerald Hayden (5/5/80; sit-ski, Merced, CA)*
George Sansonetis (10/20/72; standing, Fraser, CO)*

C Team:
Ralph Green (06/01/1977; standing, Vail, CO)*
John Whitney (8/17/1986; standing, Towson, MD)

Caitie Sarubbi (02/22/90; visually, Brooklyn, NY)
Danelle Umstead (2/15/1972; visually, Hood River, OR)

Development Team:
Mark Bathum (10/1/1958; visually, Bellevue, WA)
Heath Calhoun (6/29/1979; sit-ski, Clarksville, TN)
Scott Meyer (3/2/1974; sit-ski, Frisco, CO)

Ricci Kilgore (04/04/80; sit-ski, Reno, NV)
Alana Nichols (3/21/1983; sit-ski, Winter Park, CO)
Holidae Swan (1/9/1948; visually, Collierville, TN)


photo: USSA