Canadian Olympic Freestyle team named

Posted By: The Ski Channel on January 25, 2010 2:09 pm

And presenting…the Canadian Freestyle Ski Team for the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Games! The Canadian Freestyle Ski Association and Ski Cross Canada named the 18-member team today. Some featured stars include Jenn Heil, Alex Bilodeau, Steve Omischl and one of our illustrious SuperBabes of Snow, Ashleigh McIvor. “We’re elated to be sending such a strong team overall with significant medal chances, but we’re also saddened to be leaving athletes who have won World Cup medals in the last 14 months, like Ski Cross Racers Davey Barr and Aleisha Cline as well as Aerialist Ryan Blais, at home. This underscores the fact that Freestyle should be entitled to more Olympic spots,” said CFSA CEO Peter Judge said. “Nevertheless, the Freestyle athletes who will don the maple leaf in Vancouver next month have a real chance to help Canada own the podium this time around.”

Here’s the team:

Chloé Dufour-Lapointe, Montreal, Que.
Jenn Heil – Spruce Grove, Alta. now living in Montreal, Que.
Kristi Richards, Summerland, B.C.
Alex Bilodeau, Rosemère, Que.
Maxime Gingras, St-Hippolyte, Que.Vincent Marquis, Quebec City, Que.
Pierre-Alexandre Rousseau, Drummondville, Que.

Veronika Bauer, Toronto, Ont.
Kyle Nissen, Calgary, Alta.
Steve Omischl, North Bay, Ont.
Warren Shouldice, Calgary, Alta.

Ski Cross:
Ashleigh McIvor, Whistler, B.C.
Julia Murray, Whistler, BC
Danielle Poleschuk, Winnipeg, Man.
Kelsey Serwa, Kelowna, B.C.
Christopher Del Bosco, Vail, Colorado
David Duncan, London, Ont.
Stan Hayer, Calgary, Alta.