Mountain Dew will keep sponsoring the Dew Tour

Posted By: The Ski Channel on January 27, 2010 4:30 pm

Burr Ridge, Ill. (Jan. 25, 2010) — Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports today announced that Dew Tour title sponsor Mountain Dew has signed a multi-year deal to extend the relationship. The series title sponsor since the Dew Tour’s inception in 2005, Mountain Dew will retain entitlement of both the Tour and its points-based championship, the Dew Cup.

“Mountain Dew is looking forward to further success with our title sponsorship of the Dew Tour and the prized Dew Cup,” said Jeff Dubiel, VP of Sports Marketing, Pepsi. “The Dew Tour is always providing Mountain Dew with new opportunities to build brand equity and really connect with its core consumers. Because of this; we’ve decided to renew and enhance the long-standing relationship with Alli.”

“We’re beyond pleased to have Mountain Dew renew their relationship with the Dew Tour,” said John Stamatis, Alli Vice President of Marketing and Partnerships. “The fact that Mountain Dew is extending their involvement with the Dew Tour is a testament to the strength of the brand and the Tour we have built together over the past five years.”

Mountain Dew signed on as the Dew Tour’s title sponsor for the inaugural season in 2005 and has remained an integral part of the Dew Tour ever since. Also the Tour title sponsor for the Winter Dew Tour, Mountain Dew will receive Tour-wide exclusivity in the non-alcoholic beverages category.

“Throughout the renewal process, we’ve worked closely with Mountain Dew, developing new programs along the way to enhance our partnership,” said Stamatis. “These ideas will help to generate more organic integration throughout the event and additional branded content to be distributed across all platforms as well as providing Mountain Dew with more tools to build and strengthen their customer relationships  benefiting not only Mountain Dew but the overall Tour as well.”

Following its fifth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2010 Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the six disciplines. The 2009 Dew Cup winners include Chris Cole (skateboard park), Bucky Lasek (skate vert), Garrett Reynolds (BMX park), Jamie Bestwick (BMX vert) and Ryan Nyquist (BMX dirt).