Spots still open in the Dumont Cup

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 18, 2010 7:35 am

Hey guys, spots are still available if you think you have what it takes to compete in the 2nd Annual Dumont Cup!! Don’t miss your chance to compete with Simon Dumont, Tom Wallisch, TJ Schiller, Peter Olenick, Jossi Wells, and some of the best amateur athletes out there!

Here’s some more info on the Cup:

Newry, Maine (January 26, 2010) – It took a mountain to make X Games gold medalist and world record holder, Simon Dumont a household name, and now that mountain – Sunday River – and Dumont are working together on the 2nd Annual Dumont Cup scheduled for March 26-27, 2010, where a new freeskier will reign supreme.

“I want to create a signature event for amateur skiers on the East Coast that allows them to compete with the pros said Dumont. “The Dumont Cup highlights the talents of both professionals and amateurs while showcasing the best the East has to offer.”

Dumont, along with professional freeskiers: Tom Wallisch, TJ Schiller, Peter Olenick and Jossi Wells, will mentor, compete and judge skiers on a slopestyle course located in Rocking Chair Terrain Park designed by Dumont himself.

$20,000 in cash and prizes are up for grabs for first, second and third place finishers. First place also receives a one-week scholarship to Camp Woodward, an action sports camp and training facility located in Woodward, Pennsylvania.

Qualifiers are held in two sessions on Friday, March 26 from 10 – 4:30 p.m. and determine the top 40 amateurs sent to semi-finals on Saturday.

During the semi-finals and finals, professional and amateurs skiers compete side-by-side. Judges determine the top three overall winners as well as a stand-out amateur from the two-day competition.

The Dumont Cup is open to 150 competitors – twice the size of last year’s field. Registration is $100 and includes a lift ticket.

For more information on the 2nd Annual Dumont Cup, visit or Please note that the event schedule is subject to change.

Here’s a video from last year’s Cup: