Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame induction at Beaver Creek

Posted By: The Ski Channel on April 9, 2010 1:28 pm

Today, the Beaver Creek ski resort will host the induction of eight athletes and sport builders into the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame. This is the first time a venue in Colorado will host this event. 

Chris Waddell and Sarah Will, two of the greatest Paralympians of all time will be inducted, along with adaptive skiing pioneer Jack Benedick, legendary big mountain skier Doug Coombs, famed industry writer and instructor Stu Campbell, veteran ski jumping champion Ansten Samuelstuen, the father of southern skiing Sepp Kober, and longtime U.S. Ski Team press officer and journalist Paul Robbins.

“Beaver Creek is proud to host the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame induction ceremony and we are thrilled to honor and recognize these incredible individuals who have had a lasting impact on our sport,” said John Garnsey, co-president, Vail Resort and chief operating officer of Beaver Creek Resort. “We congratulate the newest members of the Hall of Fame and pay tribute to those who are no longer with us.”

“Hosting the Hall of Fame’s premier annual event in one of America’s premier Mountain resorts, Beaver Creek, is a major part of the Hall’s goal of bringing knowledge of the Hall and it’s honored members to today’s active skiers and snowboarders where they recreate,” said Hall of Fame Chairman Bernie Weichsel.

“The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame is excited to bring the induction of this outstanding class to Beaver Creek,” said Hall President and CEO Tom West. “The response from skiers and others in the ski community in Colorado and across the country has been outstanding.”