NSAA honors 12 ski resorts with annual safety awards

Posted By: The Ski Channel on April 22, 2010 2:24 pm

LAKEWOOD, Colo. – The National Ski Areas Association honored 12 resorts with its annual National Ski Area Safety Awards. Each season the awards recognize those resorts that have done an outstanding job of educating employees and guests about skiing and snowboarding responsibly. The 2009/10 winners are:

* Best Overall Safety Program (More than 250,000 skier visits) – Beaver Creek Resort, Colo.
* Best Overall Safety Program (Less than 250,000 skier visits) – Arizona Snowbowl, Ariz.
* Best Safety Week Program – (TIE) Vail Mountain, Colo. and Stratton Mtn. Resort, VT
* Best Terrain Park Safety Program – Loon Mountain, N.H.
* Best Avalanche Safety Program – Bridger Bowl, Mont.
* Best Helmet Safety Program – Heavenly, Calif.
* Best Use of the Web/Social Media – Mt. Bachelor, Ore.
* Best Employee Involvement & Education – Aspen Snowmass, Colo.
* Best Community Outreach – Seven Springs Ski Area, Pa.
* Best Safety Theme/Quote – Mountain Creek, N.J. “Stupid Hurts”
* Best Chairlift Safety Program – The Canyons, Utah

Each of the winning programs will be highlighted in the August issue of the NSAA Journal.