Russian and Swiss ski teams announce team additions

Posted By: The Ski Channel on May 1, 2010 12:06 pm

Yesterday, both the Russian and Swiss ski teams made announcements regarding additions to their teams.

Dario Cologna of Davos will lead the Swiss National Team in 2011. He will be joined by Toni Livers, Curdin Perl and Remo Fischer. Their sprint team will feature Christoph Eigenmann, Martin Jager, Jori Kindschi and Valerio Leccardi. For the women, Doris Tracshel will take the place of retired Laurance Rochat. She will be joined by Silvana Bucher and Bettina Gruber.

Russian skiers nominated to National team will include a mix of veterans and some new talent. The men’s distance squad will be lead by Alexander Legkov, Maxim Vylegzhanin, Artem Zhmurko, Peter Sedov, Konstantin Glavatskikh, Ilia CChernousov, Evgenly Belov, Alexey Vitsenko, Raul Shakzianov and Alexander Bessmertnyh. Below won a silver medal in the 10km CL at the FIS Junior World Nordic Championships.

On the women’s side, the Russians will nominate Irina Khazova, Natalia Korosteleva, Evgenia Medvedeva, Valentina Novikova, Natalja Iljina, Alevtina Tanygina, Julia Tchekaleva, Olg Kuziukova and Svetlana Nikolaeva.  These skiers and the sprint teams will be training as a group through the summer and fall.