Canadian Alpine Ski Team selected

Posted By: The Ski Channel on May 15, 2010 10:20 am

Calgary, Canada – As the Canadian Alpine ski team is preparing for the 2011 World Championships, 26 athletes have been named to participate in Alpine Canada Alpin summer training programs that got underway this week in Calgary.

The group, comprised of 15 men and 11 women, includes five World Cup winners and three World Championship medalists. The summer training team will follow the dryland training in Calgary with a much needed rest period. The Canadian World Cup team for the 2010-11 ski season will be selected from this group.

Erik Guay, of Mont-Tremblant, Quebec, who became the first Canadian since 1982 to win a discipline title, winning the men’s super G Crystal Globe on the final day of competition, leads a group of “Canadian Cowboys” that also includes World Cup winners Manuel Osborne-Paradis (Vancouver, British Columbia) and Jan Hudec (Calgary, Alberta).

John Kucera (Calgary, Alberta), who suffered a broken leg in the super G event at the Bombardier Lake Louise Winterstart is on the road to defend his downhill World Championship title next season. Michael Janyk (Whistler, British Columbia), a bronze medalist in slalom at the 2009 FIS Alpine Skiing World Championships in Val d’Isère headlines the men’s technical team.

On the women’s side, the team includes World Cup winner Britt Janyk (Whistler, British Columbia) who finished 6th in the downhill event at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games as well as Kelly VanderBeek (Kitchener, Ontario), who is on the road to recovery from a knee injury occurred in Val d’Isère, France, last December.

“We are very excited about the talented team going into the World Cup season and World Championships in Garmisch. The men’s team had a very strong World Cup season last year that was highlighted by Erik’s Crystal Globe victory and we are looking forward to building on that momentum next World Cup season,” said Canadian Alpine Ski Team Athletic Director, Patrick Riml.

“On the women’s side we had a few retirements and the team consists of some younger athletes and we are looking forward to seeing them perform to their abilities as they gain experience,” added Riml.

Riml is eager to see the injured athletes getting back on their skis and joining the team for the preparation period.

“Last year we had a lot of strong athletes that unfortunately got injured, it will be great to have them back with the team and on the World Cup circuit,” said Riml.

The FIS World Cup season is scheduled to get underway in Sölden, Austria, next October while the Alpine events of the 2011 World Championships take place in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany, beginning in mid-February.



    * François Bourque – New Richmond, QC (Pin Rouge)
    * Dustin Cook – Lac Sainte Marie, QC (Mont Ste-Marie)
    * Julien Cousineau – Lachute, QC (Mont-Tremblant)
    * Robbie Dixon – Whistler, BC (Whistler Mountain Ski Club)
    * Erik Guay – Mont-Tremblant, QC (Mont-Tremblant)
    * Kelby Halbert – Bradford, ON (Toronto Ski Club)
    * Louis-Pierre Hélie – Berthierville, QC (Mont-Ste-Anne)
    * Jan Hudec – Calgary, AB (Banff Alpine Racers) *OWG
    * Michael Janyk – Whistler, BC (Whistler Mountain Ski Club)
    * John Kucera – Calgary, AB (Calgary Alpine Racing Club)
    * Tyler Nella – Toronto, ON (Georgian Peaks)
    * Manuel Osborne-Paradis – Vancouver, BC (Whistler Mountain Ski Club)
    * Jean-Philippe Roy – Ste-Flavie, QC / Gatineau, QC(Mont-Comi)
    * Brad Spence – Calgary, AB (NATC – Team Panorama)
    * Trevor White – Calgary, AB (NATC – Fortress Alpine Ski Team)


    * Brigitte Acton – Mont-Tremblant, QC (Mont-Tremblant, QC)
    * Marie-Michele Gagnon – Lac-Etchemin, QC (Mont Orignal)
    * Anna Goodman – Pointe Claire, QC (Mont-Tremblant)
    * Britt Janyk – Whistler, BC (Whistler Mountain Ski Club)
    * Kelly McBroom – Canmore, AB (Banff Alpine Racers)
    * Erin Mielzynski – Guelph, ON (Georgian Peaks Ski Club)
    * Brittany Phelan – Mont Tremblant, QC (Mont-Tremblant Ski Club)
    * Marie-Pier Préfontaine – Saint-Sauveur, QC (Club Chanteclerc)
    * Eve Routhier – Sherbrooke, QC (Mont Orford)
    * Kelly VanderBeek – Kitchener, ON (Chicopee Ski Club)
    * Larisa Yurkiw – Owen Sound, ON (Georgian Peaks Ski Club)


In an effort to increase the focus put towards development programs, ACA has created a new Prospect Team Program which will offer the selected athletes the enhanced opportunities to train and compete with their peers from all over Canada as well as the opportunity to train with CAST athletes. Following the Evaluation Prospect Camp that took place in Nakiska, Alberta and Calgary, Alberta last month, the organization has also announced the list of athletes chosen to take part in the next project of this new program. The athletes selected for this project will spend the month of August training in New Zealand with the Prospect Team Staff. This camp will feature opportunities to train closely with the rest of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team who will also be in New Zealand during that time.


    * Erik Read – (Banff Alpine Racers)
    * Trevor Philp – (Banff Alpine Racers)
    * Philip Brown – (Alberta Ski Academy)
    * Tristan Tafel – (Banff Alpine Racers)
    * Dominique Garand – (Mont-Tremblant Ski Club)
    * Morgan Pridy – (Whistler Mountain Ski Club)
    * Sasha Zaitsoff – (Red Mountain Racers)
    * Victoria Stevens – (Mont-Tremblant Ski Club)
    * Madison McLeish – (Alberta Ski Academy)
    * Madison Irwin – (Craigleith Ski Club)