World Heli Challenge announces ski and snowboard competitors

Posted By: The Ski Channel on July 20, 2010 10:41 am

In less than two weeks, many of the world’s top skiers and snowboarders will converge on Wanaka, New Zealand to participate in the return of the legendary World Heli Challenge.

Athletes from eight countries will be represented including Travis Rice, arguably one of the most influential athletes in both skiing and snowboarding.

Several Olympians, including Julia Mancuso (Ski Racer, USA), Andy Finch (Snowboard Halfpipe, USA), Mitchell Brown (Snowboard Halfpipe, NZL), and Juliane Bray (Snowboard Halfpipe, NZL) will be on hand to show that they also have what it takes to bring their skills to the backcountry.

Last year’s winners, Ted Davenport (overall men’s skier), Janina Kuzma (overall woman’s skier), Andy Finch (overall men’s snowboarder) and Janina’s twin sister, Maria Kuzma (overall woman’s snowboarder), will all be back to defend their titles.

The world’s top ranked female big mountain skier, Ane Enderud (NOR) and snowboarder, Aline Bock (GER) will both be competing this year giving Maria and Janina some competition on their home soil.

Be sure to check out all the action from last year’s World Heli Challenge in these exclusive video clips.

Following is the full list of competitors:

Male Skiers

Bernie Rosow, USA
Boen Ferguson, AUS
Charlie Timmins, AUS
Chris Booth, AUS
Christian Sirianni, AUS
Eric Zeller, GER
Laylor Lee, AUS
Leo Taillefer, FRA
Luke Potts, GBR
Mat Jackson, USA
Mike Wilson, USA
Mitch Reeves, AUS
Raphael Beazley, NZL
Sam Smoothy, NZL
Ted Davenport, USA
Tim Dutton, USA
Tom Costa, AUS
William Tressider, AUS

Male Snowboarders

Adam DeVargas, USA
Andy Bergin Sperry, USA
Andy Finch , USA
Ben Wooster, NZL
Jayson Hayle, USA
Johannes Scharl, DEU
Mitch Brown, NZL
Quentin Robbins, NZL
Ralph Backstrom, USA
Ratty Sheidow, AUS
Rydor McCune, USA
Shin Biyajima, JPN
Travis Rice, USA
Will Jackways, NZL

Female Skiers

Ane Enderud, NOR
Jackie Passo, USA
Janina Kuzma, NZL
Julia Mancuso, USA
Sarah Mancuso, USA

Female Snowboarders

Aline Bock, GER
Juliane Bray, NZL
Maria Kuzma, NZL
Shannan Yates, USA
Sunny Prather, USA