Snow sport athletes Lindsey Vonn, Torah Bright, Alana Nichols up for Sportswoman of the Year honor

Posted By: The Ski Channel on August 25, 2010 10:29 am

Olympic champions Lindsey Vonn and Torah Bright and Paralympic double gold medalist Alana Nichols are among the elite group of athletes nominated for the prestigious 2010 Sportswoman of the Year honor, presented by the Women’s Sports Foundation.

The winner is determined entirely by online popular vote.

Vonn had a record shattering season in 2010 that included the Olympic gold medal for downhill and a bronze in super G. In addition, she captured an American record 11 Audi FIS World Cup victories en route to her third consecutive overall and downhill titles, in addition to the super G and super combined crystal globes. Earlier this summer, Vonn took ESPY awards as Female Athlete of the Year and Female Olympic Athlete of the Year, becoming the first skier in American history to capture each honor.

Bright had several halfpipe victories during 2009-10 including at the World Cup in Switzerland, and the Toyota Championships of the Winter Dew Tour. She then won gold at the Olympic Winter Games in the halfpipe. Bright was a joint recipient of the Ski & Snowboard Australia Athlete of the Year. She also won Best Female Action Sports Athlete at the 2010 ESPY’s in July.

Nichols was also in attendance at the ESPYs as a nominee for Best Female Athlete with a Disability. Her nomination for both the ESPY and Women’s Sports Foundation honors were boosted by a 2010 season that included a four-medal haul in Vancouver with gold in both downhill and giant slalom, plus silver in super G and bronze in super combined. Also an Paralympic gold medalist for wheelchair basketball, Nichols is the first American woman to earn gold in both summer and winter Paralympics.

Voting ends at midnight on Tuesday, August 31 and fans can cast their ballot online now

The awards will be presented, at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards Dinner on October 12, 2010, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.