Freeskiing World Tour readies in Las Lenas, Argentina despite tough snow conditions

Posted By: The Ski Channel on August 26, 2010 2:58 pm

The Argentinian Freeskiing Championships, the second stop on the 2010 Subaru Freeskiing World Tour, were scheduled to begin today but due to lack of snow and fluctuating weather conditions, the competition will run as a one-run event on Friday. The snowpack  at Las Lenas has been limited this year, making the competition venue of Eduardo’s all the more challenging for contest entrants.

Coverage of the first FWT stop, Chilean Freeskiing Championships.

Inspection day at Las Lenas:



“Friday, temperatures are expected to warm considerably, giving us the best chance at optimal snow conditions for our athletes to showcase their skills,” said competition director Bryan Barlow. “If we would’ve been here a week later, there wouldn’t have been enough snow to host a competition.”


Argentenian Freeskiing Championships Start List


Start Number – Athlete – Home Resort – Country

1 Alex Taran Snowbird USA
2 Sebestiana Martinez Farellones CHL
3 Ashley Maxfield Jay Peak USA
4 Crystal Wright Jackson Hole USA
5 Alex Riedman Crested Butte USA
6 Sole Diaz Farellones CHL
7 Maria Jose Dias Sancho Catedral ARG
8 Jackie Paaso Squaw Valley USA
9 Clare Burns Val d’Isere USA
10 Angel Collinson Snowbird USA
11 Jacqui Edgerly Aspen USA
12 Rebecca Selig Timber Ridge USA
13 Christina Reams Arapahoe Basin USA


1 Oscar Sosa Chapelco ARG
2 Tato Vasuik Chapelco ARG
3 Ben Wheeler Snowbird/Alta USA
4 Ryan Davis Alyeska USA
5 Griffin Post Jackson USA
6 Drew Tabke El Colorado CHL
7 Jason Frazier Snowbird USA
8 Garrett Altmann Taos USA
9 Ignacio Castro Valle Nevado CHL
10 Lucas Swieykowski Cerro Caterdral ARG
11 Johnny Collinson Snowbird USA
12 Chuck Mumford Snowbird USA
13 Lars Chickering Ayers Mad River Glen USA
14 Niki Salencon Chapelco ARG
15 Yu Sasaki Whistler JAP
16 Julien Lopez La Plagne FRA
17 Mathieu Imbert Tignes FRA
18 Jonathan Lee Snowbird USA
19 Aaron Schmidt Fernie Alpine Resort CAN
20 Rodrigo Gonzalez Las Lenas ARG
21 Andreas Hasselback Whistler GER
22 Sasha Geist Chapelco ARG
23 Rossi Gustavo Daniel La Hoya ARG
24 Rob Hammond Mt Hood Meadows USA
25 Ticiano Maniero Las Lenas ARG
26 Kent Hyden Alta USA
27 Ismael Sepulveda El Colorado CHL
28 Alexander Hoare Mt Ruapehu NZ
29 Patrick Westfeldt Snowmass USA
30 Santiago Allende Squaw Valley USA
31 Tim Eckfeld Funasdalen SWE
32 Mark Filippini Vail USA
33 Drew Stoecklein Alta USA
34 Christian Boiria Bagueria-Beret SPA
35 Bill Fleming Squaw Valley USA
36 Chopo Diaz Valle Nevado CHL
37 David Sanabria Bagueira-Boret SPA
38 Casey Coleman Crested Butte USA
39 Jose Antonio Pavon Valle Nevado CHL