New Zealand National Championships Slalom Results

Posted By: The Ski Channel on September 1, 2010 3:17 pm

Day two of the New Zealand National Ski Championships took place today at Coronet Peak under blue skies with competitors chasing  the slalom crown.

The Men’s race was won by Norway’s Lars Elton Myhre with a time of 1:38.20, followed by yesterday’s GS bronze medalist David Chodunsky (USA), who secured silver in 1:38.78. Truls Johansen, of Norway, earned bronze with his time of 1:39.03.

On the women’s side, Slovakia’s Veronica Zuzulova took top honors by finishing in 1:36.22. Norway’s, Lotte Smiseth Sejersted took silver with 1:36.68 while Aline Bonjour (SUI) secured bronze with 1:37.58.

Queenstown’s Tim Cafe, the fastest New Zealander, became the 2010 National Men’s Slalom Champion with a time of 1:46.40. “It was a challenging hill with a quality field,” said Cafe, who finished 13th overall.

Sarah Jarvis, who placed 10th overall, defended her GS title won yesterday, becoming the 2010 National Slalom Champion with a time of 1:41.66.

The National Championships shift to Mt. Hutt for the final event of the National Championships, the Super G.