U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2009 with placement ceremony on Sept. 25

Posted By: The Ski Channel on September 21, 2010 1:16 pm

The annual U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Weekend will take place September 24-25, 2010 to welcome the new class of yearly inductees.

The Class of 2009 was already inducted this past April in Beaver Creek, Colorado, and now the skiers will be honored with a formal placement ceremony at the Hall located in Ishpeming, Michigan.

Three adaptive skiers head up the largest class of inductees to enter the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame since 1984. Jack Benedick, Chris Waddell and Sarah Will are the first adaptive skiers to enter the Hall of Fame since Diana Golden in 1997.

Joining them are three well-known names from the ski world: Legendary big mountain skier Doug Coombs; famed industry writer and instructor Stu Campbell; and longtime U.S. Ski Team press officer and journalist Paul Robbins. Rounding out the class of eight for 2009 are the late Sepp Kober, the “Father of Southern Skiing” and Ansten Samuelstuen, a holder of three national and four North American titles in ski jumping.

The weekend will kick off with the Class of 2009 banquet at the Country Village Banquet Hall in Ishpeming on Friday, September 24 and the colorful Kiwanis Breakfast and welcome on Saturday morning, Sept 25, at C.L. Phelps School. The highlight of pubic events is the Placement Ceremony at the U.S. Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame on Saturday afternoon at 3 p.m.

For more information on the Class of 2009 and the annual weekend, check out http://skihall.org.

Hall of Fame Weekend Schedule of Events

Friday, September 24

What: Annual Hall of Fame Banquet and Auction
Where: Country Village Banquet Hall
When: Starts at 5:30 p.m.
Tickets: $50 per person

Saturday, September 25

What: Ishpeming Pioneer Kiwanis Breakfast
Where: Phelps Middle School
When: Starts at 9:00 a.m.
Tickets: $5.00 per person

What: Open house and Placement Ceremony
Where: U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame
When: Starts at 3:00 pm)
Tickets: Free admission