New York Ski and Snowboard Ball returns Nov. 4 with Olympians in tow

Posted By: The Ski Channel on October 29, 2010 11:18 am

The athletes of the U.S. Ski Team and U.S. Snowboarding have 21 reasons (medals), to celebrate the success of the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. On Thursday, Nov. 4, 16 of those reasons will be on the red carpet with medals in town for the 43rd Annual New York Ski and Snowboard Ball and Olympic Celebration. It will be a reunion of past and present with a dozen Olympic champions expected to attend.

Joining the reunion and making his debut as master of ceremonies for the evening will be Olympic gold medalist Jonny Moseley. The 1998 freestyle moguls Olympic champion will host the evening gala spearheading the fun and chatting it up on-stage with the star studded list of U.S. Ski Team and U.S. Snowboarding athletes in attendance.

New Yorkers and gests can expect to see some serious hardware Thursday evening at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City, as they mingle with gold, silver and bronze. Hitting the Big Apple will be 2010 Olympic medalists Bode Miller, Johnny Spillane, Seth Wescott, Julia Mancuso, Kelly Clark, Shannon Bahrke, Bryon Wilson, Andrew Weibrecht, Billy Demong, Jeret “Speedy” Peterson and Paralympic medalist Alana Nichols along with other fellow U.S. Ski Team and U.S. Snowboarding athletes. Also making an appearance are legendary skiers Donna Weinbrecht and Tommy Moe.

“New York is one of America’s and the world’s prominent centers of commerce and the city’s business leaders have a deep passion for supporting our athletes,” said Vice President, Foundation Trace Worthington. “The New York Ball is the largest event of the fundraising season. It has been a tradition within our organization for over 40 years. This year will be exceptional and more unique from the past years, especially since there will be so many medalists present.”

Indeed, the ball dates back to the 1960s when New York came together to help support the early Teams as they traveled to Europe. The tradition has continued over five decades with a gala evening of celebration.

The room will be packed with skiing and snowboarding fans and supporters while an excited buzz moves through the air. As the guests settle into the high energy atmosphere, the Flying Ace All-Stars take to the stage for an eye-popping, jaw-dropping trampoline performance. Amidst the trampolines will be a live auction with spectacular once-in-a-lifetime opportunities.

“The Ball is part of “The Journey Continues” campaign,” said Worthington. “We are taking the time to appreciate and celebrate the success of the Olympics, but also kicking off the 2010-11 winter season with a bang.”

In preparation for the gala, the athletes will head to the Raika Studio salon courtesy of Paul Mitchell, for a hair and styling session. The athletes will roll-up to the 2010 New York Ball in style, as their Audi chauffeured cars drop them off on the red carpet ablaze with flashing lights.

For information on the 2010 New York Ski and Snowboard Ball and Olympic Celebration, donations and other events, please visit the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Team Foundation.

Attending Olympians

Olympic Medalists
Kelly Clark (Olympic gold and bronze medalist)
Shannon Bahrke (Olympic silver and bronze medalist)
Billy Demong (Olympic gold and silver medalist)
Lindsey Jacobellis (Olympic silver medalist)
Hannah Kearney (Olympic gold medalist)
Ted Ligety (Olympic gold medalist)
Julia Mancuso (Olympic gold and two-time silver medalist)
Bode Miller (Olympic gold, three-time silver and bronze medalist)
Tommy Moe (Olympic gold and silver medalist)
Jonny Moseley (Olympic gold medalist)
Alana Nichols (Two-time Olympic gold, silver and bronze medalist)
Jeret “Speedy” Peterson (Olympic silver medalist)
Johnny Spillane (Three-time Olympic silver medalist)
Andrew Weibrecht (Olympic bronze medalist)
Donna Weinbrecht (Olympic gold medalist)
Seth Wescott (Two-time Olympic gold medalist)
Bryon Wilson (Olympic bronze medalist)

Other 2010 Olympians
Nate Holland
Heather McPhie
Nate Roberts
Louie Vito
Graham Watanabe