Nordic Combined Lillehammer preview

Posted By: The Ski Channel on December 1, 2010 7:56 am

The 2010/11 DKB FIS Nordic Combined World Cup will continue in Lillehammer, Norway, this weekend – and the big question mark awaiting to be answered is: Will Felix Gottwald (AUT) be the main rival of Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA) in this season, or do the results from Kuusamo not reflect the real strengths of the field?

Anyhow, at the moment, Jason Lamy Chappuis is leading the overall World Cup, but Felix Gottwald is only ten points behind. “I do not want to give my yellow bib [of the World Cup leader] to somebody else”, the Frenchman said in Kuusamo. “This is a season in which you can focus both on overall World Cup victory and World Championship medals”, Gottwald replied.

 For sure, all the other athletes, e. g. the Norwegians at their home event, the Germans with last year’s winner in Lillehammer Tino Edelmann, won’t just stand and watch, but will also jump and run for victory. Excitement is guaranteed.


  • Timetable: 
    Friday, 3 December 2010, 12:00: provisional competition round;  Saturday, 4 December 2010, 10.00: jumping session HS 138; 12.30: 10 km cross- country Gundersen race (4 x 2,5 km); Sunday, 5 December 2010, 9.45: jumping session HS 138; 12.30: 10 km cross-country Gundersen race (4 x 2,5 km)
  • The top three of last year’s opening competition in Lillehammer were Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA), in front of Petter Tande (NOR) and Eric Frenzel (GER). One day later, the winner was Tino Edelmann (GER); runner-up was Anssi Koivuranta (FIN), third was Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA).
  • Petter Tande (NOR) was sick and did not compete in Kuusamo; he will be at the starting gate in Lillehammer again.
  • The Lysgårdsbakkene Ski Jumping Arena (HS 138) was built for the Olympics in Lillehammer in 1994, and has become a major landmark in Lillehammer. Nordic Combined hill record holder is Espen Rian (NOR). He jumped 139,5 m on 2.12.2006.
  • The 2.5 km long race course at Sjusjoen Ski center has a high difference of 29 m (707m above sea level lowest point/736 m highest point). The athletes have to climb a total of 62 m each lap.
  • All winner in Lillehammer:

          6.12.2009    Tino Edelmann (GER)

          5.12.2009    Jason Lamy Chappuis (FRA)

          3.12.2006    Christoph Bieler (AUT)

          2.12.2006    Magnus Moan (NOR)

          4.12.2005    Hannu Manninen (FIN)

          3.12.2005    Hannu Manninen (FIN)

          1.-2.12.01    Todd Lodwick (USA)

          30.12.2000  Bjarte Engen Vik (NOR)

          29.12.2000  Kristian Hammer (NOR)

          29.11.1998  Hannu Manninen (FIN)

          27.-28.11.98 Bjarte Engen Vik (NOR)