Kevin Rolland takes the Superpipe and overall title on the Dew Tour

Posted By: The Ski Channel on February 12, 2011 5:07 pm

The Dew Tour was rocking today at Snowbasin and everything was on the line for Frenchman Kevin Rolland heading into today’s freeski superpipe final at the Winter Dew Tour’s Toyota Championship. Rolland and Simon Dumont had ftraded first and second all year, but it was Rolland who came out on top today and earned his second win of the season and his first-ever Dew Cup.  On the women’s front, Brita Sigourney of Carmel, Calif. took top honors at the freeski superpipe final with a final score of 92.00.
“To win the Dew Cup is crazy for me because it was my goal at the beginning of the season, and now to get it, it’s one of the craziest days of my life,” said Rolland. “I’m so, so stoked!”

Heading into his second run, Rolland, age 21, already secured the highest score of the competition with a 95.00. However, he topped that on his victory lap by throwing out tricks that included two huge doubles and a flawless left double 12 for a final score of 96.50, the highest in Winter Dew Tour history for freeski superpipe, resulting in him becoming this years  Dew Cup Champion.
The story of the day however may go to fellow Frenchman, Benoit Valentin, who placed second in the men’s final with a score of 90.25. Valentin, 18, competed in the Winter Dew Tour’s Last Chance Qualifiers (LCQs), held for the first time ever at the Toyota Championship. Valentin’s win in the LCQ’s gave him the opportunity to qualify into prelims at Snowbasin Resort, where he made an impressive second-place finish overall in the final. New Zealand’s Byron Wells, 18, rounded out the podium in third with an 84.25.
“This is just such a great day for me,” said Valentin. “To be able to have a chance to compete through the Last Chance Qualifiers, and to make it this far, is just so crazy for me. I skied the best I ever have today, and I’m so happy.”
In the women’s freeski superpipe final, 21-year-old Sigourney earned a winning score of 92.00 on her first run by throwing out tricks that included a 900, a 540, an alley-oop 540 and a 720. Devin Logan, age 17 from Dover, Vt., followed in second with a 91.00 and local favorite Jen Hudak, age 24 from Salt Lake City, Utah, earned a third place score of 90.00.
“It feels awesome to win,” said Sigourney. “It’s the last stop for me and to go out with a win is just a really good feeling.”
The four-day competition is  final stop on the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour season featuring men and women’s snowboarding and freeskiing disciplines. The Toyota Championship will continue tonight with the snowboard superpipe finals and will conclude tomorrow with the snowboard and freeski slopestyle finals where the remaining Dew Cup Champions will be honored. 
Winter Dew Tour’s Toyota Championship
Saturday, February 12, 2011
Ogden, Utah – Snowbasin Resort
Men’s Freeski Superpipe – Finals
1. Kevin Rolland, France, 96.50. 2. Benoit Valentin, France, 90.25. 3. Byron Wells, New Zealand, 84.25. 4. David Wise, Reno, Nev., 83.00. 5. Jossi Wells, New Zealand, 82.00. 6. Simon Dumont, Bethel, Maine, 81.00. 7. Thomas Krief, France, 80.00. 8. Matt Margetts, Canada, 76.75. 9. Duncan Adams, Breckenridge, Colo., 76.00. 10. Tucker Perkins, North Hampton, N.H., 75.25 11. Mike Riddle, Canada, 44.25. 12. Justin Dorey, Canada, 38.25. 
Men’s Freeski Superpipe – Tour Rankings
1. Kevin Rolland, 286. 2. Simon Dumont, 260. 3. Thomas Krief, 230. 4. Justin Dorey, 196. 5. David Wise, 187. 6. Jossi Wells, 177. 7. Matt Margetts, 177. 8. Byron Wells, 167. 9. Dan Marion, 166. 10. Mike Riddle, 162. 
Women’s Freeski Superpipe – Finals
1. Brita Sigourney, Carmel, Calif., 92.00. 2. Devin Logan, Dover, Vt., 91.00. 3. Jen Hudak, Salt Lake City, Utah, 90.00. 4. Maddie Bowman, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 85.75. 5. Keltie Hansen, Canada, 80.50. 6. Rosalind Groenwoud, Canada, 15.25. 
Women’s freeski results are not part of season-long Dew Cup rankings.
The complete 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:
Event                                       Date                 Location
Nike 6.0 Open                         Dec. 16-19        Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.
Winter Dew Tour Killington      Jan. 20-23         Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.
Toyota Championships            Feb. 10-13        Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah
In its third season, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah. The 2009-10 Dew Cup champions include Andreas Hatveit (Freeski Slopestyle), Jossi Wells (Freeski Superpipe), Jamie Anderson (Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle), Sage Kotsenburg (Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle), Kaitlyn Farrington (Women’s Snowboard Superpipe), JJ Thomas (Men’s Snowboard Superpipe).