Dew Cup awards ceremony concludes Dew Tour season

Posted By: The Ski Channel on February 15, 2011 12:45 pm

The Winter Dew Tour’s Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah concluded Sunday evening, marking the end of the 2010-11 season. The Dew Cup Awards Ceremony honored the top winter athletes from around the world, who competed in freeskiing (slopestyle and superpipe) and snowboarding (slopestyle and superpipe) on the three-stop Tour. The Toyota Championship had record-breaking attendance with over 44,300 people experiencing the four-day event, making it the highest-attended Winter Dew Tour event in the Tour’s history by over 10,000.
Dew Cup – The coveted Dew Cup is awarded to the top-ranked athlete and overall points leader in each of the Tour’s six disciplines.
          Men’s snowboard superpipe – Louie Vito, 22, Bellefontaine, Ohio with 270 points
·         Women’s snowboard superpipe – Kelly Clark, 27, West Dover, Vt. with 274 points
·         Men’s freeski superpipe – Kevin Rolland, 21, France with 286 points
·         Men’s snowboard slopestyle – Torstein Horgmo, Norway with 286 points
·         Women’s snowboard slopestyle – Jamie Anderson, 20, South Lake Tahoe, Calif. with 292 points
·         Men’s freeski slopestyle – Bobby Brown, 19, Breckenridge, Colo. with 274 points
Toyota Athlete of the Year – Honors the male and female athlete who earned the most overall points in any one discipline during the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour season.
·         Male – Kevin Rolland (freeski superpipe) and Torstein Horgmo (snowboard slopestyle) tied with 286 points
·         Female – Jamie Anderson (snowboard slopestyle) with 292 points
PlayStation Pro Moment – Out of the 12 athletes nominated from the first two stops of the season, the athlete who performed the single best trick at the Toyota Championship.
·         Mark Mcmorris, 17, Canada (snowboard slopestyle) – a backside 1260 doublecork during the snowboard slopestyle finals this weekend at the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort

Ball Park Rookie of the Year – Awards the rookies with the highest number of points in snowboarding and freeskiing.
·         Freeski – Torin Yater-Wallace, 15, Basalt, CO with 130 points
·         Snowboard – Rebecca Torr, 20, New Zealand with 242 points
 Paul Mitchell Breakthrough Athlete of the Year – Voted on by the athletes and fans, this award recognizes an athlete who does something that surpasses expectations.

  • Brett Esser, 18, Breckenridge, Colo. (snowboard superpipe) – He came in new to the Winter Dew Tour as an Open Qualifier, winning the OQ round at the Nike 6.0 Open in Breckenridge. As a Tour rookie, Esser showed his consistency and finished sixteenth overall

PowerBar Performance of the Year – Recognizing a single performance by an athlete that was clutch under pressure when it was needed most.

  • Kevin Rolland, 21, France (freeski superpipe) – Rolland not only dominated on the superpipe, stomping his first run under pressure, but he managed to follow that up with a historic victory lap by besting his first score and further securing him the Dew Cup champion for the first time in his career.  
For the first time, Snowbasin Resort hosted the four-day Championship event, which was highlighted by the first-ever Last Chance Qualifier, a brand-new 22-foot superpipe, the expansion of women’s freeski competitions, the Gatorade Free Flow Tour Finals and the Dew Cup Awards. During the four-day freeski and snowboard competition, approximately 44,300 fans experienced the Toyota Championship, making it the highest-attended Winter Dew Tour event in the Tour’s history by over 10,000.