Snowsports journalists association announces award winners

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 10, 2011 11:45 am

The North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA) honored four notable persons who have made significant contributions to winter sports endeavors and also bestowed their Harold S. Hirsch Awards in the fields of snow sports writing and photography for 2011. The awards, this year presented at Alyeska Resort in Girdwood, were revealed at a banquet on March 04, 2011, that was climax of the organization’s annual meeting.

The Carson White-Golden Quill Award:

Nnamed after the group’s first president, honors an individual who has made a significant contribution to snowsports in North America. For 2011, the honor went to Mel Dalebout. Dalebout is “Mr. Made in America.” The company, Daleboot, manufactures the only ski boots that are made in the United States – and he’s done it since 1969 when he invented the world’s first foam-injection filled boot

NASJA’s 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award:

Honoring a lifetime of snowsports related innovation, competition, design and other endeavors went to Thom Perkins. Perkins has been Executive Director of the Jackson Ski Touring Foundation in New Hampshire’s White Mountains for a third of a century.
Bob Gillen Memorial Award:

This award, named in honor of a former Ski Magazine editor and marketing wizard at Crested Butte and Sugarbush ski resorts, honors an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism in public relations and media communications.  This years winner is Nathan Rafferty, Executive Director of Ski Utah in Salt Lake City.  Rafferty has worked in various capacities in Utah’s ski industry first starting as an intern with Ski Utah the summer after he graduated from college. Other industry experience includes a sales position at Park City Mountain Resort and both office manager and Director of Communications positions at Ski Utah.

The Harold S. Hirsch Awards:

Named after the ski-clothing pioneer-creator of the White Stag Company, honors the best in craft in the snowsports journalism. The awards were underwritten by prize grants from Salomon Sports and Sport Obermeyer.

In Feature Writing, Peggy Shinn of Rutland Vermont won the top award, She writes for Vermont Life, Stratton Times and others, Peggy receives the Hirsch trophy and a pair of Salomon skis..

Gerry Pallor of New Paltz, New York, a Videographer and editor for RadX sports received the Video Category honors for 2010.

Tops in Columns for 2010 was Center Conway, New Hampshire’s Marty Basch. Basch is a freelancer, outdoor column writer and book author

Blog honors for 2010 went to .Claudia Carbone from Denver, Colorado. Carbone is a book author and writes a women’s centric blog.

In the category of Photography, Tom Winter was awarded the Hirsch Honors; his work appears in Powder, Ski, Skiing and many other publications.

New this year, NASJA is awarding The Mitch Kaplan Award For Excellence in Snowsports Coverage.

This award is named for the late NASJA Secretary-Treasurer and multiple Harold Hirsch and Lowell Thomas Awards winner. The first Kaplan Award goes to Jim Cantore of the Weather Channel.

The Paul Robbins Outstanding Competitor Award is voted on at the general membership meeting by press and corporate membership. This Year’s award goes to Hannah Kearney of Norwich, Vt. Kearney has five World Cup freestyle victories this season and is currently ranked No. 1 in moguls and No. 1 overall on the circuit. She also took silver in moguls competition and bronze in the dual moguls event at the World Championships.