Whistler Cup: Olympic dreams start here

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 17, 2011 10:36 am

The Whistler Cup is an international ski event organized by the Whistler Mountain Ski Club and hosted by Whistler Blackcomb and takes place on Whistler Mountain April 8th -10th. Having completed its 18th year, Whistler Cup has grown to become the largest and most important ski race in North America, and internationally, for athletes aged 11 – 14 years. It is held under the auspice of FIS, the international governing body for alpine skiing. With over 450 young athletes from 20+ countries, the Whistler Cup brings together children from many different cultures around the world.  Following the success of Whistler as a host of the 2010 Winter Olympics, the Whistler Cup is the must-attend race for athletes and partners not only in the US and Canada, but around the world. For many of our young Canadian athletes this is the first opportunity they have to meet and ski with the world’s best.

Whistler Cup is the place to watch the future come to life, as this year’s young athletes strive to follow in the recent Olympic footprints of former Whistler Cup participants Lindsay Vonn, Julia Mancuso, Anja Paerson, Tina Maze, and Benjamin Raich, Britt and Michael Janyk, Eric Guay, Robbie Dixon, Emily Brydon, and Manuel Osborne-Paradis, to name only a few.  For more information, please visit whistlercup.com

Schedule of Events

Friday April 8, 2011
9am – 3pm Kinder I Kombi Upper Dave Murray
9am – 3pm Kinder II Super G Raven & Ptarmigan
5pm Parade Throughout Whistler Village
  Opening Ceremony & Awards Village Square


Saturday April 9,2011
9am – 3pm Kinder I & II Women Giant Slalom Raven & Ptarmigan
9am – 3pm Kinder I & II Men Slalom Upper Dave Murray
7pm Awards Banquet TELUS Whistler Conference Centre


Sunday April 10, 2011
9am – 3pm Kinder I & II Men Giant Slalom Raven & Ptarmigan
9am – 3pm Kinder I & II Women Slalom Upper Dave Murray
5:30pm Awards Ceremony Village Square

Confirmed countries are below.

Australia Hungary
Austria Japan
Brazil Macedonia
Canada New Zealand
Cayman Islands Russia
Chile Slovakia
Denmark USA
France Virgin islands
Hong Kong