2011-2012 Winter Dew Tour Schedule Announced

Posted By: The Ski Channel on June 29, 2011 2:20 pm

Burr Ridge, Ill. – The Winter Dew Tour just announced the host resorts and dates for the 2011-12 winter season. Showcasing the world’s top freeski and snowboard athletes competing in slopestyle and superpipe, the Winter Dew Tour begins at Breckenridge Ski Resort in Breckenridge, Colo., December 15-18, 2011.

After the tour kicks off in Breckenridge, it will continue to Killington Resort, in Killington, Vt., January 19-22, 2012 and then concludes with the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin, a Sun Valley Resort, in Ogden, Utah, February 9-12, 2012. NBC will be televising  the tour LIVE with additional domestic and international television broadcasts in over 200 million households. It is by far the largest platform in all of the winter action sports.

Rising freeski and snowboard stars will also have an opportunity to solidify a regular spot through a qualifying system hosted at Breckenridge. “I love the Winter Dew Tour because you can always count on having the best halfpipes and slopestyle courses, with the world’s top athletes doing what they do best,” said Dew Cup Champion Louie Vito. “Winning the overall Dew Cup was a big accomplishment, and I look forward to defending it this season!”

The Winter Dew Tour has always been committed to pursue the progression in the winter action sports industry. Chris Prybylo, General Manager of the Winter Dew Tour has said, “The Winter Dew Tour continues to be the most successful winter action sports tour by continuing its tradition of setting spectator attendance records, attracting the world’s top competitors and enjoying partnerships with the country’s premier resorts.”

This upcoming season, the tour will be featuring premier 22-foot superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses at each hosted stop. Besides the the styles slope side, the styles will be present will the continuation of live music and a festival village. This upcoming 2011-2012 will deliver as it always has. “A standard of excellence for winter action sports has been set, and we look forward to building upon it during the 2011-12 season,” Prybylo said.

The complete 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Date                 Location

Dec. 15-18        Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.

Jan. 19-22         Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.

Feb. 9-12          Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah – Toyota Championship

The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Bobby Brown (Freeski Slopestyle), Kevin Rolland (Freeski Superpipe), Jamie Anderson (Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle), Torstein Horgmo (Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle), Kelly Clark (Women’s Snowboard Superpipe) and Louie Vito (Men’s Snowboard Superpipe).

Entering its fourth season in 2011-2012, these top athletes will all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah again.