Lance Armstrong and others compete in Power of Four Mt. bike race

Posted By: The Ski Channel on August 29, 2011 7:26 pm

Aspen/Snowmass, CO – Max Taam of Aspen, Colo. took home first place in the inaugural Power of Four Mountain Bike Race this Sunday, August 28, with a time of three hours, fifty-seven minutes and fifty-four seconds (3:57:54).

This was an impressive time considering the challenging course which combined the four ski areas of Aspen/Snowmass – Snowmass, Aspen Mountain, Aspen Highlands and Buttermilk – into one demanding course with an estimated 11,000 feet of vertical gain, 9,000 feet of vertical drop and over 33 miles of top rated single and double track trails.

Lance Armstrong, seven-time Tour de France winner and part-time local, joined the field of riders and lead for much for the race. Armstrong injured himself in a fall along the Government Trail yet continued on through Aspen Highlands and then pulled out of the race due to his injury.

A field of over 80 competitors consisted of solo racers, solo singlespeed racers and relay teams (of two or four). Below are the results for the top teams in each category.

Men’s Solo Racers:
Max Taam – 3:57:54
Scott Leonard – 4:18:19
Garth Prosser – 4:21:40
Kip Biese – 4:23:21
Chris Klug – 4:43:13 (Olympian and Aspen/Snowmass Athlete)

Women’s Solo Racers:
Rachel Hadley – 5:35:25
Jen Tilley – 5:39:33
Jessie Young – 5:45:37
Pam Seidler – 6:04:38
Anna Hansen – 6:47:14

Men’s Singlespeed:
Chris Brandt – 4:37:38
Aaron Taylor – 4:50:08
Alex Coleman – 5:09:52

Men Teams of Two:
Justin Labier & Gregory Ernst – 5:05:37
Nick Armano & Chris Butler – 5:21:36
Mike Tierney & Jason Gregg – 5:47:29

Coed Teams of Two:
Joshua & Kelley Cullen – 4:14:50
Charlie Eckart & Anne Gonzales – 4:19:07
David & Cara Borchers – 4:49:39

Male Quad Teams:
Team A31H featuring Steven Ferrell, Gus Oliver, Bryan Smith & Scott Bell
Start Slow & Taper featuring Andrew Vick, Braeden Flaherty, Sam Campise & Chris Ryan