Winter Dew Tours Nike Open Tomorrow with Simon Dumont, Bobby Brown and Kevin Rolland

Posted By: The Ski Channel on December 14, 2011 11:38 am

Entering its fourth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the eight disciplines. The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Louie Vito (men’s snowboard superpipe), Kelly Clark (women’s snowboard superpipe), Torstein Horgmo (men’s snowboard slopestyle), Jamie Anderson (women’s snowboard slopestyle), Kevin Rolland (ski superpipe) and Bobby Brown (ski slopestyle).The Winter Dew Tour continues its commitment to progression in action sports, with premier superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses. 

The tour officially kicks off its fourth season tomorrow, December 15th, through to the 18th. The weekend’s events will bring the top names in freeski superpipe and slopestyle to the mountain, while helping to celebrate Breckenridge’s 50th anniversary.

Winter Dew Tour qualifiers began today with men’s slopestyle. Jamieson Irvine overcame blustery winds and on and off snow showers to finish with a top score of 84.67 on a run that included a right double 1080 high mute and a switch right double flat 900 safety. Chris Logan came in second with a score of 84.50. Chris Laker rounded out the top 3 with a first heat score of 83.83.

Freeskiing game-changer Simon Dumont has come up short in his goal of winning the superpipe Dew Cup, landing in 2nd place since the Winter Dew Tour’s inception. He comes to Breckenridge with visions of the elusive title in his future, competing against Justin Dorey, Kevin Rolland and young phenom Torin Yater-Wallace, who dominated in the Gatorade Free Flow Tour before moving up to the pro ranks in 2010.

Heating up the freeski slopestyle course will be the technical expertise of 2010-11 Dew Cup Champion and local competitor Bobby Brown. He’ll have to defend his title against Alex Schlopy, who ended last season on top of the podium, and constant threat Sammy Carlson.

Taking the action off the mountain, the Winter Dew Tour concert series will treat snowboarders, skiers and hip-hop fans alike to a performance by one of rap’s most buzzed about and unique up and comers as Yelawolf and opening act The Knux take the stage. These Shady Records acts will be the perfect complement to Friday’s 50th Anniversary celebration in the town, with 100 percent of the ticket proceeds going to SOS Outreach.

Scope the course now with skier Alex Schlopy in this First Look video:

See More Videos at

The full schedule of events for the Nike Open is as follows:

Thursday, Dec. 15th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00AM
9:15 AM – 1:15 PM: Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Qualifier
11:00 AM – 2:00 PM: Men’s Freeski Superpipe Qualifier
2:15 PM – 4:00 PM: Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Qualifier

Friday, Dec. 16th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00AM
9:15 AM – 10:15 AM: Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Semi-Final
9:45 AM – 12:00 PM: Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Semi-Final
10:15 AM – 12:00 PM: Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Semi-Final
1:45 PM – 4:00 PM: Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Semi-Final

Saturday, Dec. 17th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00AM
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM: Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Semi-Final
11:30 AM – 12:30 PM: Men’s Freeski Superpipe Final
2:00 PM – 2:40 PM: Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Final
3:00 PM – 4:00 PM: Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Final
5:00 PM – 11:00 PM: Nike Chosen One Rail Jam / Yelawolf Concert at the River Walk

Sunday, Dec. 18th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00AM
9:30 AM – 10:10 AM: Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final
10:30 AM – 11:30 AM: Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final
12:30 PM – 2:00 PM: Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Final

Schedule is subject to change. To stay up to date on the action, follow live updates via the Dew Tour on Twitter.

Running through the entire weekend, the Festival Village offers something for everyone attending the Dew Tour.  Visit the Pantech tent to test out the newest cell phones, play pool or air hockey at Paul Mitchell, and grab a ride all weekend in one of Toyota’s free shuttles.

For additional Winter Dew Tour event information, visit Visit the Dew Tour Facebook page and follow @thedewtour on Twitter for up-to-the-minute information on the latest Winter Dew Tour action.

The complete 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event                                       Date                 Location

Nike Open                               Dec. 15-18        Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.

Pantech Invitational               Jan. 19-22         Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.           

Toyota Championships         Feb. 9-12          Snowbasin Resort – Ogden,Utah


The pre-qualified athlete list for Nike Open in Breckenridge is as follows:

Men’s SKI Superpipe & Slopestyle

Duncan Adams, Bobby Brown, Christian Allen, Sammy Carlson, Xavier Bertoni, Philip Casabon, Noah Bowman, Joss Christensen, Justin Dorey, Simon Dumont, Robert Franco, Alexander Ferreira, Charles Gagnier, Gus Kenworthy, Alexis Godbout, Thomas Krief, Nick Goepper, Matt Margetts, Henrik Harlaut, Dan Marion, Andreas Hatveit, Tucker Perkins, Russ Henshaw, Mike Riddle, JF Houle, Kevin Rolland, PK Hunder, Taylor Seaton, Sean Jordan, Benoit Valentin, Gus Kenworth, Josiah Wells, Alex Schlopy, David Wise, Dane Tudor, Torin Yater-Wallace, Tom Wallisch, Jacob Wester, McRae Williams, James Woods