Public Rocks the Vote at The Red Bull Cold Rush

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 3, 2012 10:43 am

Red Bull Cold Rush Logo

The Red Bull Cold Rush is getting personal!  This peer-judged competition has just created a new category, the People’s Choice Award.  Spectators on and off the mountain can now vote for their favorite skier.

With a bench this deep, picking a favorite will be a challenge, even for those who insist they know who they will choose.  This is a category completely without precedent; it’s anyone’s game.  18 men and five women will be in the running.  Callum Pettit has replaced Mike Henitiuk who dropped out because of an injury. 

Go to Red Bull Signature Series broadcast on March 24th or go to Red Bull’s website to check out the athletes and see them in action.  Highlight videos of their best runs will be posted each day of the three-day competition.  By the end, voters will be able to compare video in all three of the backcountry freeskiing disciplines–Big Mountain, Slopestyle and Cliffs.  If that’s not enough to make a decision, watch the one-hour NBC special airing Saturday, March 24th at 1pm EST/10am PST as part of the Red Bull Signature Series programming block.  It’s going to take some serious thought, so analyze the options. 

Voting opens March 6th, closes March 26th.  The Red Bull People’s Choice winner will get a cool $1000 bonus and bragging rights for being the first.  He or she will be announced on the Red Bull website.

This will be the second year Cold Rush heads to Silverton Mountain in Colorado.  World-class skiers will fight for the all-around title, laying down some extreme lines in one of the most creativity-invoking contests of the season.  It is designed to test the limits of both the talent and the sport.  Do not miss this! 

Here is the updated list of the competitors:

Sean Pettit
Sage Cattabriga-Alosa
Tim Durtschi
Dane Tudor
Dave Treadway
Leo Ahrens
Richard Permin
Fabio Studer
Logan Pehota
Dash Longe
Pep Fujas
Andy Mahre
Tobias Tritscher
Kye Petersen
Wiley Miller
Collin Collins
Josh Bibby
Callum Pettit
Anna Segal
Michelle Parker
Jackie Paaso
Rachael Burks
Lexi Dupont