X Games 2013 in Aspen: Men's Slopestyle Elimination

Posted By: The Ski Channel on January 25, 2013 8:11 pm

Today’s competition was pure insanity at the start of the X Games 2013 in the Men’s Ski Slopestyle elimination with the 16 athletes competing for one of the top 8 places to advance to finals. It was James Woods (Sheffield, GBR) who rose to the occasion and claimed 1st in Slopestyle. Despite Wood’s crash in the first run, his perseverance was put to the test in the second run, earning a score of 92.66. Andreas Hatveit (Sudndalen, NOR) followed in 2nd place and Alex Bellemare (Saint-Boniface, QC, BC) in 3rd. The top eight riders advance to the Final including Henrik Harlaut, Joss Christensen, Nick Goepper and Alex Schlopy. 

Last year’s slopestyle winner, Tom Wallisch, did not make it to this year’s final. For the past two weeks, he has been recovering from a partial MCL tear in his knee during competition at the Grand Prix in Copper Mountain, Colorado. The recovery process of rest and physical therapy diminished his practice time but did not stop him from competing in the slopestyle at X Games with a knee brace. His resiliency is truly admirable after him falling on the first run in last place then scoring an 80.66 on the second run to boost up to 9th place. Wallisch was so close, yet so far away from the finals with only one place behind the advancing 8 competitors. Be prepared to see Tom Wallisch’s comeback in the future. 

Catch more epic action in Men's Ski Slopestyle this Sunday, January 27th at 2 p.m. ET on ABC, ESPN and WatchESPN.


1 James Woods 26.33 92.66 92.66
2 Andreas Håtveit 77.66 91.33 91.33
3 Alex Bellemare 89.00 30.00 89.00
4 Bobby Brown 87.00 87.33 87.33
5 Henrik Harlaut 84.33 86.00 86.00
6 Joss Christensen 85.33 29.00 85.33
7 Nick Goepper 85.00 82.66 85.00
8 Alex Schlopy 70.00 81.66 81.66
9 Tom Wallisch 29.00 80.66 80.66
10 Gus Kenworthy 22.66 78.00 78.00
11 Matt Walker 54.00 77.00 77.00
12 Mcrae Williams 76.00 69.66 76.00
13 Noah Morrison 65.66 53.33 65.66
14 Jossi Wells 19.66 29.00 29.00
15 Alex Beaulieu-Marchand 28.66 25.00 28.66
16 PK Hunder 14.00 22.66 22.66