Lindsey Jacobellis And Nick Baumgartner Win Gold and Silver in World Cup SBX

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 13, 2009 12:00 pm


Lindsey Jacobellis (Stratton Mountain, VT) racked up her fifth World Cup win of the season today in La Molina, Spain. It was a photo finish, and Jacobellis had been trailing Switzerland’s Sandra Frei (who took the silver) right from the start. “Sandra worked the rollers a little better than me and got ahead of me inside on the first turn," Jacobellis said. "She held her line so I wasn’t able to really make a pass. I was trailing her the whole way and at the last banked turn I had a really good turn and came out with extra speed."

The recent National Championship winner just added another title to her spectacular season: The World Cup SBX Overall. For Jacobellis, winning the SBX Overall World Cup title only signals better things to come. "Hopefully I’ve earned my right to go into the Olympic year strong,"
she said.
On the men’s side, fellow U.S. snowboarder Nick Baumgartner (Iron River, MI) grabbed the silver medal at the La Molina World Cup. “It’s good being on the podium, especially after my big crash last week," Baumgartner said. “I had a horrible pull (start) in the finals, so I had to work for second, but it was great." 
Baumgartner’s teammates, 2006 Olympic gold medalist Seth Wescott and recent X-Games gold medalist Nate Holland (Squaw Valley, CA) also fared well yet just missed the podium, with Wescott finishing sixth and Holland seventh. 


La Molina, Spain 
March 13, 2009


1. Markus Schairer, Austria

2. Nick Baumgartner, Iron River, MI

3. Francois Boivin, Canada

4. Alex Pullin, Austria

5. Tom Velisek, Canada

6. Seth Wescott, Sugarloaf, ME

7. Nate Holland, Squaw Valley, CA

11. Jonathan Cheever, Saugus, MA

20. Jayson Hale, Sierraville, CA

21. Shaun Palmer, South Lake Tahoe, CA

22. Jason Smith, Basalt, CO

24. Pat Holland, Squaw Valley, CA

29. Ross Powers, Londonderry, VT


1. Lindsey Jacobellis, Stratton Mountain, VT

2. Sandra Frei, Switzerland

3. Dominique Maltais, Canada

4. Alexandra Jekova, Bulgaria

5. Maelle Ricker, Canada

30. Faye Gulini, Salt Lake City
photo: USSA