Olympic Cross Country Athletes Announced

Posted By: The Ski Channel on January 22, 2014 10:41 am

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced the 2014 U.S. Cross Country Olympic Ski Team. The Olympic team will be led by world champions Kikkan Randall and Jessie Diggins, along with seven other athletes with Olympic experience. The U.S. Olympic Cross Country Ski team has a very strong roster and will be expected to put up a strong challenge against the international teams in the Olympic games.

The men nominated include Erik Bjornsen, Kris Freeman, Brian Gregg, Simi Hamilton, Noah Hoffman, Torin Koos, and Andy Newell.

The women’s cross-country team nominations include Sadie Bjornsen, Holly Brooks, Sophie Caldwell, Jessie Diggins, Kikkan Randall, Ida Sargent, and Liz Stephen.




Photo: Sarah Brunson / Erik Bjornsen in front at 2014 U.S. Cross Country Championships, Men’s 15K Classic.

Kikkan Randall -Sarah BRunson


Photo: Sarah Brunson / Kikkan Randall in the team sprints at FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in Val di Fiemme, Italy. 



Photo: Sarah Brunson / Kris Freeman at the men’s skiathlon at FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in Val di Fiemme, Italy. 



Photo: Sarah Brunson / Sadie Bjornsen at the women’s skiathlon, FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in Val di Fiemme, Italy.