Stratton Mountain School’s Women’s Nordic Program takes home Roger Weston award

Posted By: The Ski Channel on March 16, 2010 12:23 pm

Presque Isle, Maine‹For the third time in three years, the Stratton Mountain
School Women¹s Nordic Program was given the prominent Roger Weston Award,
which entitles the SMS women as the best high school Nordic team in the
country. In addition to this prestigious award, SMS had nine podiums and 14
top-10 finishes at the 2010 Junior Olympics.

SMS was also honored as the second best junior club in the country, just
behind the Alaska Winter Stars.

Isabel Caldwell ¹10 had three podium finishes throughout the event. She won
the J1 Women¹s Sprint category on day one. For the Classic race, she earned
a bronze medal in the 10k, and her relay team took second on the last day of
the series. Additionally, Caldwell earned a fourth top-10 finish in the
Freestyle race on Friday, giving her All-American honors.

Heather Mooney ¹12 also stood on the podium in three events. For the J2
Women¹s category, Mooney earned silver in both the Classic Sprint and the
Classic 5k. Her relay team took home top honors with a gold medal finish in
the relay on Saturday. She, too, was named an All-American.

In addition to Caldwell and Mooney¹s success, SMS had three other podium
results. In the Classic Sprint, Gage Fichter ¹10 earned a third-place spot
on the podium in the J1 Women¹s category while Skyler Davis ¹10 won a silver
medal for the Older Junior (OJ) Men, despite breaking two poles in the final
heat of the event. Cambria McDermott ¹11 and her relay team took home third
place in the Women¹s OJ relay event on Saturday, marking another podium
finish for a SMS athlete.

Austin Cobb ¹10 and Bridger Tyler ¹11 both had top-10 individual results,
which honors them as All-Americans. Tyler Foulkes ¹13 and his relay team
earned fifth place in the J2 Junior Men category.

Due to the results at Junior Olympics, SMS now extends a record that boasts
at least one JO Champion and one World Junior Team member for 14 straight
years. They can now claim a new record as a three-time Roger Weston Award
winner. Additionally, due to SMS athlete contributions, Team New England,
led by SMS Nordic Coach Matt Boobar, won the overall Alaska Cup by a
record-breaking 385 points.